Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Shielding from magnetic field of the earth

Alvaro Loya Villalpando

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello,

I am completely new to comsol. I've created a geometry of cocentric cylinders (with some openings) in solidworks and have imported this geometry to comsol.

I'd like to simulate how well these cylinders shield from the earth's magnetic field, though I'm unsure how to generate a constant and uniform magnetic field of the earth or assign the material properties.

If you can point me to any relevant resources it would also be appreciated.

Thank you in advance.

5 Replies Last Post 18 sept. 2020, 16:58 UTC−4
Robert Koslover Certified Consultant

Posted: 4 years ago 16 sept. 2020, 22:19 UTC−4

First, you might want to read this: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mu-metal

You can create a domain filled with a uniform magnetic field in the Comsol magnetostatics application (mfnc) very easily. E.g., in 3D, create a simple rectangular box, set two opposite facing walls to have to two different magnetic potentials and set the other 4 walls to magnetic insulation. Then the computed magnetic field lines will go straight from one mag potential wall to the other. (Just like a parallel plate capacitor, but with magnetic instead of electric fields.)

-------------------
Scientific Applications & Research Associates (SARA) Inc.
www.comsol.com/partners-consultants/certified-consultants/sara