Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Lift of alpine skis.

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

I am completely new to Comsol Multiphysics but I need it for my master thesis.
I have the following problem:
- Simulation of the lift of alpine skiers, which are loaded with certain mass in powder conditions.

For me, there are various problems:
- The lift of snow is different to lift in the air. A ski doesn't get it's lift like an airplane, the ski gets it's lift because of the speed of the skier. The longer the air needs" to get out of the snow" under the ski, the more lift the skier get.
--> but, how is it possible to do something like this?

Any ideas?
Best Regards,
Felix

4 Replies Last Post 4 sept. 2012, 07:55 UTC−4
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago 7 mai 2012, 14:15 UTC−4
Hi

interesting problem,
should you approach it via CFD or non linear materials ?
new features are annonced in 4.3 for next month I have heard ? ;)

How do you express your material (snow) properties, depending on the pressure and the velocity of the ski, and should you consider snow as a fluid, or non-linear solid, or a 2 component fluid (air+snow) ... or ?

better to get some feeling of how to do this (how its done by other snow experts i.e avalanche experts, car tire experts ... ?) before starting to simulate

--
Good luck
Ivar