Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Time Dependent Analysis of two Coupled Membranes

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi everyone!

I am very new to comsol, so I apologize in advance if my problem is trivial.
I have to perform an acoustical simulation with comsol 4.2a.
My system is made of two elastic circular membranes coupled by an air-filled cavity. I want to apply a uniform (but time dependent) pressure on the two membranes, namely po*cos(w*t) on one membrane and p0*cos(w*(t+dt)) on the other.
As a final result, I want to get the velocity of vibration of the two membranes in the stationary state. However, I cannot understand whether I implemented correctly the time dependent conditions and I actually do not know how to build the study in order to get the velocity of vibration in the stationary state.

Concerning the pressure boundary conditions, I defined two analytical functions in the global definitions:
cos1=cos(w*t)
cos2=cos(w*(t+dt))
with argument t[s]
Then I defined two variables
p1=p0*cos1(t)
p2=p0*cos2(t)
I defined w, dt and p0 as parameters.

I am using an Acoustic-Shell Interaction, Frequency Domain Physics, and I selected a Face Load to apply for example p1 on one of the membranes and p2 on the second one.
Is that the correct way to proceed?
Moreover, how should I proceed in order to perform the time dependent study?

Thank you very much in advance!

7 Replies Last Post 23 août 2012, 16:19 UTC−4
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago 27 juin 2012, 14:21 UTC−4
Hi