Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Navier Stokes equation with periodic boundary?

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello,

I want to model flow in an open stream over repeating streambed geometry (sinusoidal geometry of ripples). My background is to use the calculated pressures on the streambed for further modelling in porous media.

I use Navier-Stokes equation with slip-bc on top (open water) and streambed, inflow velocity as left bc, and constant pressure value as outflow boundary on the right side.
The model runs quite good, but I’m searching for a solution where the pressure and velocity field over one ripple is equal to any other ripple in the system. That means a periodic pressure distribution for an “infinite” long streambed is necessary.

I tried it with periodic bc, with right bc as source and left as destination, but there was no change in the pressure distribution. But I’m not sure if a periodic bc is the right application for this.
Are there any other possibilities?

Find my model attached.

Thanks for your help,

Nico

7 Replies Last Post 14 juin 2017, 06:59 UTC−4

Posted: 1 decade ago 4 juin 2010, 08:27 UTC−4
You have to set the same velocity profile on both inlet and outlet and then set for example a pressure on the lower left and right corner. The pressure difference decide the velocity and the pairing make it to a continous flow.
You have to set the same velocity profile on both inlet and outlet and then set for example a pressure on the lower left and right corner. The pressure difference decide the velocity and the pairing make it to a continous flow.

Posted: 1 decade ago 4 juin 2010, 08:40 UTC−4