Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

How to couple Electrostatics and Solid Mechanics in COMSOL 4

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi comsolers,

I'm a newbie in COMSOL. I'm trying to couple the force (named Fes) produced by a potential difference between a ground plane and a mechanical structure (I'm also using a moving mesh). I tried to use the "Edge load" boundary condition in the Solid Mechanics physic, using the variables "es.Tx_Fes" and "es.Ty_Fes" as the edge load. But the solver keeps saying "Failed to evaluate expression" (I think that COMSOL isn't finding the force variables)

Any suggestions?

By the way, how can I know the name of the variables produced by COMSOL? (like the es.Tx_Fes) And, do I have to define the order in which the different physics are going to be solved? I mean, if the Structural Mechanics depends on the Electrostatics, this last one has to be solved first?

PD: I've also tried to use the COMSOL 3.5 ale_cantilever_beam example but it doesn't seem to work in COMSOL 4.

4 Replies Last Post 25 juin 2010, 09:45 UTC−4
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago 19 juin 2010, 14:29 UTC−4
Hi

a few suggestions:

1) all translatings of older 3.5 to 4 are not fully up working yet, but most of the stuff gets translated, and I find it very interesting because I have learn what corresponds to what in V4 (I'm not fully up but I'm progressing, also by learning how COMSOL translates the old files).

2) to see the equations and to get some info on the internal variables, turn on te equations in the preferences