Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

attaching a 10mg mass to the free end of a cantilever beam

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello,

I'm quite new to COMSOL as I am from electronics background. As a first exercise I need to model a suspended mass cantilever beam. The beam dimensions are L = 1000um(excluding the suspended mass), H = 50um, width = 10um. Could anyone please help me how to attach the mass to the cantilever beam? I am familiar with meshing,solving and eigen analysis methods in basic vibration theory.

3 Replies Last Post 22 juin 2010, 08:23 UTC−4
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago 21 juin 2010, 13:35 UTC−4
Hi

in 2D or 3D there is no easy way to add a "point" rigid body mass, in beam or truss mode they are included as part of the BCs, apart that you can add a small surface/volume, that you give an artificially high density and stiffness. The only other way is to add it by equation, in the weak form and check that all your boundary conditions considered it, including in time and eigenfrequency mode, so that your global equations remain correct.

Point masses are anyhow slightly cumbersome as they make a easily singularities, you should better distribute them over an edge or an area.

Have fun Comsoling
Ivar