Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Exporting Comsol data to Matlab?

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello everybody,

I want to postprocess Comsol data in Matlab. Since Ascii files blow up in size and I get "out of memory error", I'm looking for some other way. I've no experience with Comsol-Matlab interface and it seems to me that this interface is not working in my system.

Could someone please tell me, how to export Postprocessing data in some Matlab-compatible format (not Ascii)?

I've converted a Comsol model (after executing) into an m-file and wanted to run it in Matlab (running separately from Comsol) but Matlab is probably not able to read the flbinaryfile (*.mphm). Any suggestion, what could be wrong here?

Thanks.
Daniel

14 Replies Last Post 14 févr. 2017, 13:12 UTC−5
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago 18 nov. 2009, 17:06 UTC−5
Hi

You need to get your link between COMSOL and Matlab up running, either you missed a step during the installation of COMSOL or some of the files added to matlab are not set up correctly. Have a look at the installation documentation of COMSOL (I beleive ther are other comments in the forum and on the support KB pages).

Once you have the link running, you can (in V3.5a) just do a File "connect" to matlab from the COSOL GUI and export the "fem" structure to Matlab by a CNTRL-F.

then you need to understand the "fem" structure (see mlinterface.pdf in the COMSOL doc) to extract the data in binay mode and you can continue your processing at will.

Good luck
Ivar