Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Modelling one-dimensional transient heat transfer

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello,

I am new to COMSOL, and I am modelling a one-dimensional unsteady state heat transfer process across a solid cylinder, I would like to learn about how the temperature distribution changes with time.

Is it appropriate that I use a 2D asymmetric model for studying a 1D heat transfer process in a 3D solid?

The variables, such as specific heat, thermal conductivity, etc, are temperature dependent. Do I have to define the variable T (Temperature) at the very first beginning (parameters or global variables)? How can I extract the Temperature results from the pde solver? I defined a temperature dependent specific heat as global, but I was still not able to call it when I am defining the properties of the material. How can I deal with it? Are there any ways that I can define a variable as a piecewise function? Although I define it as a piecewise function, it was still not working. What can I do if I would like to use the parameter that I defined in determing the interval for the piecewise function?

Thank you very much! I am really new to COMSOL, and I am really eager to learn more about it. I'd appreciate all the help that you provide for me!

Best, Shengyue Shan

3 Replies Last Post 24 juil. 2018, 16:47 UTC−4

Posted: 6 years ago 24 juil. 2018, 10:26 UTC−4
Updated: 6 years ago 24 juil. 2018, 10:27 UTC−4

Hi Shengyue,

I will try to answer as much questions as I can, but my understading of COMSOL is also a bit limited.

• Do I have to define the variable T (Temperature) at the very first beginning (parameters or global variables)?

No, temperature is an intrinsic parameter of the Heat Transfer model. Be aware that COMSOL uses SI units (kelvin)