Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Telescope mirror geometry

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi folks I am new to COMSOL. Need to draw a geometry of telescope mirror of paraboloid shape in COMSOL. It should be a short cylinder of thickness 15cm and diameter 1m. The top face of the cylinder should have parabolic/spherical shape with radius of curvature of 10m. Means the reflecting surface of the mirror should be part of sphere whose diameter 5m. I know it must be pretty straightforward and perhaps trivial but I still don't have the hang of COMSOL. Please respond.

Great Thanks in advance
-Simon

8 Replies Last Post 20 janv. 2010, 22:16 UTC−5
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago 14 déc. 2009, 11:09 UTC−5
Hi

I assume you men a a paraboloid of revolution of focal length F=5[m], hence a central radius of R=2*F=10[m].
Now in COMSOL the geometry curves are based on Weighted Bezier Splines, the 2nd order one for weight = 1 are in fact a parabola expression (see command.pdf V3.5a Ch4 "Advanced Geometry topics" "Rational Bezier Curves", pp516-524, for more on Bezier cures try
wiki or
www.cs.mtu.edu/~shene/COURSES/cs3621/NOTES/spline/NURBS/RB-conics.html or jtauber.com/blog/2008/11/08/from_focus_and_directrix_to_bezier_curve_parameters/ or mathworld.wolfram.com/BezierCurve.html or ...)