Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

How can I simulate a rotating flexible link with hub?

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

I'm a student and I know comsol from a school workshop. I think it is very powerful but now I'm still studying it and cannot use it fluently. Now I want to use it to analyze a simple multibody problem and I want to use comsol to verify my method. But I met some problems which have not solved after my many attempts. The problem is briefly described below.

As shown in the figure, a flexible beam is rigidly fixed on the hub, and the hub is driven by the rotor. There is a rotational spring between the rotor and hub. Now I want to simulate the elastic deflection of the flexible link when it rotates. Thus, I think this is a simple rigid-flexible problem.

I use 2D beam and multi-body dynamic modules to simulate this problem. As I have no idea on how to simulate the hub, the hub and rotational spring are omitted in my attempt. I firstly define the beam and a connection attachment under beam module. Then I use point mass to simulate the payload. In multibody dynamics module, I use hinger joint to simulate the rotation in which the source and destination are respectively fixed and the attachment defined under beam module. I specify the torque on this joint to drive the flexible link.

I think this should be a very simple problem and COMSOL can solve it. But I faced some problems.

1. I don't know how can I export the elastic deflection of the flexible link. As shown in the figure, I want to export the elastic deflection observed in rotating link but not stationary coordinate system.
  2. Is there some simple approach to simulate the hub and rotational spring?

1 Reply Last Post 13 oct. 2020, 02:31 UTC−4
Pawan Soami COMSOL Employee

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam