Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Modelling of a compressible fluid

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello,

I'm already a "medium level" user of COMSOL (Vers. 3.5), but as an electrical engineer, I'm lacking in the needed physics knowledge for the following problem:

I'd like to understand gas flow a little bit better in a PECVD system I've developped. I'd like to modell the gas flow from the entry point of the showerhead (which distributes the gas in the recipient) until the exit (pumping port) of the recipient.
(For those of you not familiar with a PECVD system: The process gas enters the reaction chamber through a flat, hollow plate with an array of small holes drilled in it, called showerhead. From the showerhead, the gas spreads out evenly onto the substrates, where it reacts to a solid substance, with the help of heat and plasma).

With the humble knowledge I have in fluid modelling, I guess that this problem can't be modelled with the incompressible navier-stokes, as the process gas enters the showerhead with a quite high pressure (500 - 1000 mbar absolute), while the pressure in the reaction chamber is only some 2 - 10 mbar absolute.

For me it's important to see the flow properties before and after the small holes in the showerhead. So the model has to include the strong decrease in gas density, when the gas streams out of the showerhead.

Is there a way to solve this problem with COMSOL with moderate expense of time?
Could this be done somehow with the Euler-Equation or a modification of the incompressible mode?

-A 2D-Model / 2D-Axisymmetric-Model is enough.
-Heat transfer can be neglected.
-I'm happy with a approximative result. I don't need 99.9% match to reality.

Many thanks for your help in advance!

Best regards,
Alex Stettler

1 Reply Last Post 9 nov. 2009, 11:07 UTC−5
COMSOL Moderator