Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

accessing the conductivity parameter

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

I am new to COMSOL, trying to use it as a forward solver for an optimization problem in the Matlab environment. I have looked at all the manuals and read all the sections I think are relevant. I am stuck. I want to be able to specify the conductivity of a subdomain externally, letting it vary during the optimization process, but cannot figure out how to find it in the fem structure.

I am hoping to use Matlab's own optimization routines, not the COMSOL Optimization Module, becasue 1) I will have more flexibility and 2) I cannot figure out how to bring out the conductiviy as a variable in the Optimization Module

3 Replies Last Post 27 juil. 2009, 11:49 UTC−4

Posted: 1 decade ago 23 juil. 2009, 19:49 UTC−4
An update: I exported my model as an M-file, and found out where the conductivity was set (equ.sigma). I tried to very it in a for loop, but got inconsistent results. Then I include more of the M-file in the for loop and still got inconsistent results. Finally I went back to the first versioono without a loop and manually changed the conductivity in one subdomain - still inconsistent!. ANy ideas?

An update: I exported my model as an M-file, and found out where the conductivity was set (equ.sigma). I tried to very it in a for loop, but got inconsistent results. Then I include more of the M-file in the for loop and still got inconsistent results. Finally I went back to the first versioono without a loop and manually changed the conductivity in one subdomain - still inconsistent!. ANy ideas?

Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago 24 juil. 2009, 12:47 UTC−4
Hi