Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Fluid flow through a pipe; Failed to find a solution.

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

I am relatively new to comsol and I am attempting to model water flow through a pipe given pressure head at inlet and outlets. My geometry is simple, it is a cylinder with radius 1mm and length 2mm. I am using the laminar flow model. The pressure head value at both inlet and outlet are not important to my calculations and i have a no slip boundary condition on the edges.

Whenever i attempt to run the model i receive the error: Failed to find a solution.

Anybody have any suggestions as to what i might try?

Thank You

5 Replies Last Post 13 juil. 2011, 09:38 UTC−4

Posted: 1 decade ago 3 mai 2011, 08:59 UTC−4
I'd also like to hear any suggestions as I'm modelling something similar. I can get it to work with a velocity profile inlet and fixed pressure outlet, but when I try to change the boundary conditions, the solver fails to find a solution.
I'd also like to hear any suggestions as I'm modelling something similar. I can get it to work with a velocity profile inlet and fixed pressure outlet, but when I try to change the boundary conditions, the solver fails to find a solution.

Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago 3 mai 2011, 16:40 UTC−4
Hi

if you are in turbulent mode, it could come from a to coarse mesh, I just had one of those surprises ;)

--
Good luck
Ivar
Hi if you are in turbulent mode, it could come from a to coarse mesh, I just had one of those surprises ;) -- Good luck Ivar

Posted: 1 decade ago 3 mai 2011, 22:00 UTC−4
Ivar,