Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

How to link studies ?? (a transient one using results from a stationary one)

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello comsol users

I am studying an open oven to heat copper wires, and I managed to model it in comsol with a stationnary solver. My original idea was to have a first study to put it in a steady state - done - (I assume stationnary solvers are made for that), and then in a second time make my wire pass trough the oven with a deformed mesh physic and watch if it is at the right temperature at the end of my tube (with a time-dependant study this time).

I wanted to have those 2 analysis running in a row (make the first one, keep the temperature distribution and put those results as initial conditions for the second one), but I don't know if it is possible with comsol and if it is, how am I suppose to do it.

Thank you in advance for your help!

4 Replies Last Post 6 juil. 2011, 02:42 UTC−4

Posted: 1 decade ago 4 juil. 2011, 03:23 UTC−4
Sorry to insist but I really need it so I will try to explain a little clearer :

I run 2 stationnary studies to have my oven into running conditions (with 1 physics each to combine), and I need a third time-dependent study (with the 2 previous physics + a moving mesh one) to pass my object through the oven in running conditions (is to say with the conditions obtained after the 2 first step as initial conditions). And I don't know how to set those initial conditions.

Does anyone know how to do it??
Thx