Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Time dependent geometry change- problem of convergence

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi,
Im trying to simulate a geometry change by time, I studied the previous questions regarding this topic and also run the sample model from Ivar for parameter time sweep1.mph.
to explain the problem, Im trying to simulate the breathing process in human lungs. to do so I have a rather complex 3d model but to find out how it would work, I try to have a simple cylinder inside a sphere. in addition to that we have a parametric curve which contains a current, in magnetic field physics, first study is a frequency domain,
the second study is a time dependent one, I want to simply change the radius of the mentioned cylinder in time steps.
and the error :
Failed to find consistent initial values.
Matrix has zero on diagonal.
Last time step is not converged.

appears.
I tried to change the time stepping to intermediate. no change, the problem is disapeared when Im disabling the parametric curve. ( I mean with no current and as a consequence no result)

anyone has any idea?
Thanks in advance.

3 Replies Last Post 22 juin 2012, 06:03 UTC−4
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago 11 juin 2012, 16:44 UTC−4
Hi

I'm not sure you can drive a geometry with the variable "t", in fact you cannot use any Variables, only Parameters and you need to use the Parameric Sweep solver node to loop around the geometry and the mesh nodes. A time stepping is like a parametric continuation sweep, it does not loop around the geometry neither.