Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Need to understand mphtxt format

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi,
I am new to COMSOL. I want to do a thermostructural transient analysis on a 2D axisymmetric model. I have a mesh in UCD format which I want to import in COMSOL for the analysis. How does one go about doing it? I see that it is possible to import a mesh in the native *.mphtxt or NASTRAN *.nas or *.bdf format.
I plan to modify the ASCII file containing the mesh in the UCD format to be in the *.mphtxt format. Is there some documentation that clears indicates what does each field in the *.mphtxt format correspond to?
Thanks in advance,
Saswati

5 Replies Last Post 13 avr. 2010, 23:27 UTC−4

Posted: 1 decade ago 14 déc. 2009, 05:48 UTC−5
Hello

I am not sure I remember it well.

However I think that there was a first array where there were three columns. The first & second column corresponded to (x, y) coordinates of the vertices of the triangles/squares present in your solved geometry. Then the third column corresponds to the simulated magnitude (e.g. temperature at that point).

The rest of arrays should be related to the linear relations between the previous points. But I am not sure.

Cheers.

AP

Hello I am not sure I remember it well. However I think that there was a first array where there were three columns. The first & second column corresponded to (x, y) coordinates of the vertices of the triangles/squares present in your solved geometry. Then the third column corresponds to the simulated magnitude (e.g. temperature at that point). The rest of arrays should be related to the linear relations between the previous points. But I am not sure. Cheers. AP

Posted: 1 decade ago 14 déc. 2009, 05:48 UTC−5
Hello

I am not sure I remember it well.