Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Out of memory in mesh processing.

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi,
I am a beginner in using comsol.
I am working in 3D object now, just consist of blocks.
Herewith I attach this model..
I have tried mesh processing using normal and also coarse,, but both of them said " out of memory in mesh processing"

How can I overcome this problem? I use 2 GHz and 2 GB RAM PC.
Does anyone know how to do mesh with lower memory in need?

7 Replies Last Post 26 juil. 2012, 04:06 UTC−4
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago 25 juil. 2012, 02:17 UTC−4
Hi

I'm on travel forsome time and have no access to my COMSOL WS so I cannot open your model, but 3D models do require quite a lot of RAM, once they become slightly complex. And 2Gb, once you give away 2/3 for your OS, is not really "much" or a FEM solving programme.
Have you considered using symmetry, or dimension reduction (2D-axi , 2D or other if it applies) ?

--
Good luck
Ivar
Hi I'm on travel forsome time and have no access to my COMSOL WS so I cannot open your model, but 3D models do require quite a lot of RAM, once they become slightly complex. And 2Gb, once you give away 2/3 for your OS, is not really "much" or a FEM solving programme. Have you considered using symmetry, or dimension reduction (2D-axi , 2D or other if it applies) ? -- Good luck Ivar

Posted: 1 decade ago 25 juil. 2012, 03:07 UTC−4
Hi,
I could not open your model because I use an older version of COMSOL.